The Benevolence of the Butcher Cut My Landline


Last year I ditched the land line in favor of the mobile phone.  But this didn’t get it done.  The phone was never in the room we were in.  So I tried an early bluetooth-to-handset connector to link the cell phone to handsets throughout the house.

After a failed AT&T unit, I found a Panasonic that I love.   It will connect to 2 cell phones.

Now, as soon as we walk in the door with one of our bluetooth enabled cell phones they connect to the base system, which talks to handsets throughout the house. 

The beauty is that this unit also allows a concurrent connection with a landline.  So you can keep your landline while you try out the connection to your mobile.   

There may be newer units that are even better.  I can’t speak for them.  But I strongly recommend the Panasonic.  

Yet another reason to be grateful for smart people, where ever they are in the world, who – without any care for my well being – make my life a little bit better. 

Which leads me to today’s But If Not:

“It is not from the benevolence of the butcher, the brewer, or the baker that we expect our dinner, but from their regard to their own interest.”  Adam Smith

This post if for you Cal.

This entry was posted in Benefits from Trade, Economics, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

